Online Job Hunting

So, I recently returned to Teh Staets after a year and a half in in Australia. Upon returning, I did what most people do when they don’t have jobs; I went job-hunting. While I was out doing so, I was on my bike for a good couple of hours looking like a butler who was going to a funeral, I realized that almost every single place is now only doing applications online and not paper applications in the store. Wtf is up with that, homie? It’s all so impersonal now! I mean, yeah, it sucked having to go out walking or riding my bike to look for jobs, but it was more personal to go into the store and talk to a manager. I have no idea what I’m doing now! I put in my application online and…do what? Wait? I don’t know if I should go to the Starbucks down the road and rock up to the counter, say, “Hey, I put in an application online!” Would they have my application? If not, would I have to deal with standing there, looking like an idiot? If they didn’t have it, would they look it up?

Another thing that’s really irking me is that I can apply for specific locations, instead of just kind of throwing my resume into the wind and hoping someone likes it. Now, that sounds like a good thing, right? Well, not really. Especially not really when I know of a place that’s hiring, like the Office Depot down the road, but that store is not listed on the website in the “Now Hiring” section, and that store is another one which takes ONLY online applications. What the hell is going on with these places? What happened to paper applications? I used to be amazing at that! I would get dressed up (usually looking like a butler attending a funeral), carry my resumes in a nifty carry bag, have extra pens and BASICALLY look/act like I was perfect for any job they wanted to throw at me, which is exactly how one should look/act.

Now, I can understand the want for online applications, because there’s less resources used (paper, oh my goodness), less real work involved for the people reading the applications (no sifting through stacks of paper), less of a chance of people hiring their friends, the list goes on and on. I’m just downright PISSED OFF, because I leave the country for a year and a half and when I get back, I immediately start seeing things that made me really excited to leave in the first place. What is so terrible about utilizing both online and paper applications? What if someone who desperately needs a job doesn’t have constant access to the internet? That’s not much of a reach, either, because I didn’t have proper internet almost the entire time I was in Australia! I had to use a phone for everything!

Is it possible for places to utilize both? If not, WHY NOT?

Leave a Reply

