Fun with recording!

Well, as some of you may know, I’ve been trying to record a few songs, just for the fun of it. Out of the ten tracks with guitar on the album, I have successfully recorded (and in a couple of cases, butchered) six of them! The list is as such:

Stockholm Syndrome
Safe to Dream
Watch Me
Unraveled
The Summoning
Damien’s Vault

I still need to learn how to actually master the guitars and everything, though. I usually have somewhere between 2 to 6 guitars going at once, and that can cause everything to get a little muddy. What I want to accomplish is something like Don’t Tread on Me from Metallica. If you listen to the intro of the song, you really can’t tell that there are six guitars going all at once. They sound so good! And everything is so crystal clear! That’s what I want to be able to do. Damien’s Vault is going to be extremely difficult, because even before I start to mast everything, I have to consolidate all of the guitars down to 8 or so tracks. Right now, there is an excess of 224 tracks, 219 of them are guitars. I was playing with the hard limiter (compression, really) last night, and I still have no idea what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

